Warninglid or Warningeld as it was once known is a picturesque Sussex Village of approximately 280 dwellings and is the second smallest of the four villages within the Parish.
Warninglid, or Warninglyth, as it was known in the 1300s, has Saxon origins with mediaeval iron-industry connections. In the last 25 years it has won the Best-Kept Village competition three times and been runner-up on six other occasions. The village centre was the first of six conservation areas in Sussex.
St Andrew’s Church, built in 1935, has some of the finest examples of modern stained glass in the south of England. On the outskirts, old buildings like Bells Farm, Harveys Farm, Freechase Farm, Portways Farm and Routwood (reputedly with a ghost), all dating from the 15th and 16th centuries, have developed into charming houses in delightful rural settings. The oldest recorded house is on Cuckfield Lane but the Street is the oldest residential road and has properties dating back to 16th Century. It is a highly attractive street with many listed buildings.
The village has been watched over for the last 50 years by active and vigilant residents under the auspices of the Warninglid Residents’ Society which was formed in 1959.
It has a number of active societies including the Warninglid Residents’ Society, an amateur dramatic society (The Warninglid Players), various dance, yoga and fitness classes, stoolball (historically) and a busy community life.
At the centre of the village is a crossroads and there sits the Half Moon public house - a Grade II listed brick and stone pub dating back to the 19th Century.
Education in the village is supplied by Warninglid County Primary School.
There is also a Village Hall, provided by the late Lady Seaforth, an excellent public meeting place. Please click here
for more information and hiring details.
The Recreation Ground, tucked away behind the public house, has a picturesque cricket pitch and green in a particularly rural setting. It has houses on two sides and a children’s playground, allotments and fields on the remaining sides. Cricket teams travel from across the county and beyond to play on the excellently maintained pitch.
There are areas of Ancient Woodland owned and maintained by the Woodland Trust, several farms providing grazing for sheep, crops and hay, with a widespread horse community in the village.Village Amenities
The Half Moon
Purpose built to replace the former pub, now a private home, the Half Moon has operated under many breweries. It is currently a Free House.The Seaforth Hall
Built in 1925 by Lady Seaforth in memory of her father (Edward Steinkopf of Lydhurst) the hall is of sound brick construction. It supports a variety of events ranging from classes and meetings to drama and private parties. Until recently it also acted as a doctor’s surgery on a Monday afternoon. It has good acoustics, an excellent sprung floor for dance, kitchen and bar, stage and technical facilities, ability to accommodate meetings and operates as a village centre. Please click here
for more information and hiring details.Warninglid CP School
Unlike many small villages, Warninglid has retained its school Built in 1878 in typical Victorian style, which takes children from 3 to 11 years of age. It has an excellent reputation and draws children from villages further afield. Recently a 20mph School Safety Zone has been implemented, and along with the footpath which extends almost to the village crossroads, allows for walking to school in relative safety.Recreation Ground
Owned and maintained by Mid-Sussex District Council, the recreation ground serves a multi-functional role. It has at its centre a very good cricket pitch which is served by a pavilion owned and maintained by the residents’ society. This is used almost every weekend throughout the summer either by Warninglid CC or Scaynes Hill CC who have adopted the ground as their home wicket. The ground is also used by children playing football, with a goal at the SE corner. There is also a small but excellent young children’s play area maintained by the District Council. Adjacent to that are the Allotments which are predominantly at capacity and, in general, proudly maintained. The “Rec” is served by a toilet, closed as a public facility in 2003, but still used under permission from its owner for events and users of the recreation ground.
There is a Warninglid Village Web site: www.warninglid.org.uk
run by a local resident.